Game of Thrones – You Can’t Die, You Need To Live, To Take Revenge

I still hate Jaime Lannister. Remember the time he pushed a kid off a roof? He’s evil. But his friendship with Brienne brought out some feelings of sympathy, particularly last week’s episode. This week took things further, and their conversation around the campfire was a really nice scene.

King’s Landing

There are storylines I like in GOT, and ones I don’t care about so much. I have to force myself to stay away from Pinterest when the fat guy goes to visit that baby in the cold place. (That was the worst sentence I’ve ever typed.) I am super intrigued by Lady Margaery though, and how she has fashioned herself into the Princess Diana of King’s Landing. The people hated Joffrey, but they adore her and now she is incredibly valuable. A brilliant, strategic woman. No one is entirely good or evil on this show, so I’m waiting to see what other attributes Margaery might have besides plain ambition.

It’s fun to watch Cersei freak out about Margaery’s power. She sees how Margaery can manipulate Joffrey and, on top of that making Cersei nervous, I think she’s jealous.

Game-Of-Thrones-1845799I’m also fascinated by Margaery’s grandmother, Lady Olenna, and her conversation this week with Varys. They both have interests in Sansa, not as a person but as a tool. Varys knows that Littlefinger wants to use her to seek power, and he wants to stop Littlefinger from achieving it.

Sansa is a hostage of King’s Landing, but Margaery is kind to her and will eventually be queen. Maergery spoke of marrying off Sansa to her brother, Willas, so Sansa could live in Highgarden. It’s a nice plan, but I don’t see poor Sansa finding a happy ending.

Astapor

When Daeny made the deal to trade one of her dragons for the Unsullied soldiers, I wondered if it was a ploy. Her dragons are hers, and I wasn’t sure one would obey a new person. I figured Daeny knew that the dragon would come back to her. The scene was actually much more epic than that. Daeny has been able to speak the language of Astapor all along. She used the Unsullied soldiers to free all the slaves of Astapor, and to kill anyone with a whip. Badass. What a way to end the episode!

I know I only touched on two of the storylines this week, so feel free to chime in with your thoughts in the comments!

About Jill

Pop culture junkie. Food lover. Feminist. Content marketer. I'm here to win and I'm also here to make friends.
This entry was posted in Game of Thrones. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Game of Thrones – You Can’t Die, You Need To Live, To Take Revenge

  1. Dana says:

    I wonder what Cersei’s end game is here? She put Joffrey in thinking she would have all the power but she can’t control him and now Margery can, her father is clearly not interested in her. What allies does she have? I find it hard to believe that a woman as cunning as she would have to be is out of options.

    I think there is a doublecross in store for the Lannisters in hte form of the Tyrell’s. Although I don’t trust either Margery or Lady Olenna as far as I can throw them, probably one of Sansa’s better options is to marry Loras, being the wife of a gay guy out in Highgarden than staying around where Cersei and Joffrey can so easily get to her.

    And for Daeny, the payoff of two years of wandering about. Epic! I guess Sir Richard Branson won’t dare question her strategy again.

  2. Kristin B says:

    Holy bananas, Daenerys you clever thing, you! What a way to end the episode, indeed. I was practically bouncing in my seat! Girl is gonna do some maaaajor damage now. I hope we won’t have to wait for next season for it though since it did take us this long to get her to this point.

    Who are these brotherhood people that Arya’s with now? Admittedly, I was half paying attention when they were on screen, but I think I recall hearing something about gods and whatnot in a similar way that red witch lady with Stannis talks. Same sorta people? Or I’m off in making-things-up land?

    I love Margaery. She’s quickly becoming one of my favourite characters, if not my favourite right now. The way she controls Joffrey is so compelling. We know from last season she wants to be “THE queen”, and she seems like she’s well on her way. I love seeing her put a wrench in Cersei/the Lannister’s plans. (Though I do enjoy Cersei and watching her flail about knowing she’s losing power.)

    I’m also eager to see how Sansa’s story is going to play out. Last season in the height of my rage at Joffrey, I looked up some stuff on Wiki because I NEEDED to know when/if Joffrey was going to die, and that got me looking to see if Sansa got a “happy” ending, so I sorta know what happens with her. But, I have no idea how things get from where they are now to what I sorta know.

    • Jose says:

      The brotherhood actually started back in season 1. Toward the end of the season, Ned Stark sent out Dondarrion (guy with the eye patch) with a small group of soldiers to kill Gregor, the Hounds older brother. Ever since, they have been waging a guerrilla war against the Lannisters. Thoros, second in command of the brotherhood is a red priest, just like the woman with Stannis.

    • Douglas says:

      Just think of the Brotherhood Without Banners as the Merry Men of Sherwood — they even have an archer (Anguy) like Robin Hood, though that archer is not their leader! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mad Men – A Tale of Four Secretaries | Couchtime With Jill

  4. Douglas says:

    Jill, Daenerys’s nickname is spelled Dany, not Daeny. (You can verify this in the book text.)

Comments are closed.