The Amazing Race – Gnome Sweet Gnome

tarBotswana to Switzerland – the teams experienced quite the change in climate and scenery on The Amazing Race this week.

For some reason, this episode didn’t particularly hold my interest. The challenges were OK, but bundled up I thought the teams all kind of looked the same, and I had a hard time keeping track of them.

In Switzerland, the first thing teams had to do was deliver a rescue dog on top of a mountain. Um, adorable. Then things became more difficult.

Rock Climbing

For the Road Block, one team member had to climb a mountain with a Travelocity gnome along for the ride. Early on here, two teams fell way behind – Chuck and Winona, and Megan and Joey. I find Team YouTube mildly annoying, but I was absolutely rooting for them to stay in the race over the insufferable Chuck and Winona. Their bickering drives me nuts.

Cheese Wheeling

Carrying cheese was a popular challenge last time around, when people were falling and it was funny. But this time, in the snow, it was just frustrating to watch. Was anyone good at it? The hockey bros? I couldn’t tell, it just looked like everyone was sliding down the hill.

Chuck and Winona rolled their cheese down the hill, which was incorrect – all the teams had to use the provided sleds. I knew that would come back to bite them.

Results

The hockey bros came in first again – do we all think they have this thing in a lock? I’ll be surprised if they lose. Mona and Beth came in second – a nice finish, considering they’d missed a train connection early on. Max and Katie came in third, and the country blonds in fourth.

Chuck and Winona arrived fifth to the pit stop, but incurred a 30 minute penalty because of the cheese misstep. Chuck took that time to talk about how Winona is physically weak and couldn’t be motivated by him. UGH. I can’t stand them.

Megan and Joey’s HUGE mistake was running/walking to the pit stop instead of grabbing a taxi. They arrived in last place, Megan was in tears, but Chuck and Winona’s penalty had not run out yet. They were checked in in fifth place, and Chuck and Winona were eliminated. I know I won’t miss them!

The challenges for next week look really cool, so I’m looking forward to that episode. What did you guys think of this week’s installment?

About Jill

Pop culture junkie. Food lover. Feminist. Content marketer. I'm here to win and I'm also here to make friends.
This entry was posted in The Amazing Race. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Amazing Race – Gnome Sweet Gnome

  1. Peter says:

    Yeah, this episode was a little dull to me too. The entire time I was thinking… why is there ANOTHER train ride!?! But I am glad Joey & Megan are still in it. I’ve somehow came from loathing them to liking them. Hahah.

  2. Aaron Sirois says:

    I would probably like Joey & Megan if Joey’s voice didn’t make my ears bleed. I wanted both teams gone, and for this season to be over. Alas, we probably have a non-elimination leg next week, so it will keep on going.

  3. Alex says:

    What didn’t work for me was that there was so. much. traveling! I think the first 15 minutes of the show consisted of teams going from place to place and not doing anything. And on top of that, we didn’t have a Detour. What was the reason for this leg’s structure? Did they just have a list of places they HAD to go to while in Switzerland?

    That being said, Chuck and Wynona cracked me up this week. I’m glad they’re gone cause they were by far the weakest team, but the amount of insensitive things Chuck blurted out was hilarious… and I don’t think I’ve ever seen Wynona as dead and apathetic – it was brilliant!

    ‘Good job, I’m glad you made it… the kids need a mother.’ and ‘I can’t do both these sleds and your ass.’ I 100% see how horrible those two phrases are, but… damn, I’m still laughing. 😀

  4. Christine says:

    I liked how they used a sled to transport the cheese this time. The ones you carry on your back last time would break easily and many teams actually rolled their cheese down the hill. That would be quite unfair and dangerous to others. So glad they imposed a penalty this time. Ironically, that episode’s title in season 14 was called “Don’t let a cheese hit me”.

    I’m also hoping they go to bigger cities soon so teams would face taxi problems, navigations, traffic congestions and more travelling between tasks and to the pit stop, otherwise the hockey brothers would most likely dominate this season. They really aren’t that strong apart from their physical size and athleticism.

    Going back to what I was saying, I don’t think it’s fair to have so many pit stops close by where you can run to after completing a task (not sure what everyone else thinks?). In Bora Bora, Botswana and Indonesia and others, the pit stops were actually located quiet close to the final challenges. Many teams ended up being in a foot race with each other (Some were injured, some thought they had come last), but fortunately no teams were eliminated on a neck-and-neck foot race to the pit stop.

    It also seems that Joey and Meghan (not Pam and Winnie) are actually bad at navigation and not knowing when to walk or take a taxi. They were fortunate to run into Max and Katie last episode or they might have been lost for even longer. And in Indonesia they walked from one beach to the other after their taxi driver dropped them off at the wrong beach.

Comments are closed.